Architectural-archaeological research and the hypothesis of the development of pre-local Drohobych in the XII-XIII centuries
Date
Authors
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Publisher
Видавництво Львівської політехніки
Lviv Politechnic Publishing House
Lviv Politechnic Publishing House
Abstract
Архітектурно-археологічні дослідження збережених пам’яток архітектури підкреслюють тяглість розвитку, спадкоємність, самобутність культури кожного народу. Мета статті полягає у висвітленні результатів архітектурно-археологічних зондувань при фундаментах пам’ятки дерев’яної архітектури − церкви Воздвиження Чесного Хреста в Дрогобичі, а також у розвитку гіпотези урбаністичної ґенези міста. Згідно аналізу письмових джерел визначено сім будівельних періодів з часу побудови церкви 1613 року. Метод зондувань показав, що перші фундаменти − стендари, які встановлювали у ямах на зрізану поверхню материка, часто з підкладами кам’яних плит, та засипали ґрунтом. Архаїчною вважається система підкладів подвійних плит, зафіксована під вівтарним вінцем зрубу. Впродовж третього−четвертого будівельних періодів окремі стендари замінили, а під північно-західний наріжник головного зрубу підвели мурований фундамент, опертий на розлогу основу з плит. 1823 року під вівтарний зруб та південний фасад споруди підвели стрічкову конструкцію мурованих підмурків. Під західною підвалиною бабинця та північною підвалиною нави стрічкових підмурків не виявлено. Нижня галерея XIX − початку XX ст., оперта на систему підвалин та менших стендарів. У межах четвертої зонди локалізовано глибокий археологічний об’єкт зі знахідкою у заповненні уламку кераміки, яка датується періодом княжої доби. Аналіз низки ознак і стратиграфічних особливостей формування заповнення дає підставу інтерпретувати об’єкт рештками пів-землянкового житла вказаного часу. На основі локалізації першого нерухомого об’єкту, робиться спроба уточнення однієї із гіпотез урбаністичного розвитку Дрогобича від неукріпленого початкового поселення солеварів на правому березі Побуку XII−XIII ст., через поступове його переростання у протоміське поселення XIII – початку XIV ст. на теперішньому Зварицькому передмісті до закладення у XIV/XV ст. нового локаційного середмістя на вільній суміжній території.
Architectural and archaeological studies of preserved architectural monuments emphasise the continuity of development, succession, and originality of the culture of each nation. The research aims to highlight the results of architectural and archaeological surveys at the foundations of the wooden architectural monument - the Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Drohobych, as well as to develop the hypothesis of the city's urban genesis. According to the analysis of literary sources, seven construction periods have been identified since the church was built in 1613. The sounding method showed that the first foundations were standards, which were installed in pits on the cut surface of the continent, often with stone slabs, and covered with soil. The system of double slabs fixed under the altar crown of the log house is considered archaic. During the third and fourth construction periods, some of the stands were replaced, and a stone foundation supported by a wide base of slabs was built under the northwestern corner of the main log cabin. In 1823, the altar log cabin and the southern façade of the building were supported by a ribbon structure of stone foundations. No banded foundations were found under the western base of the chancel and the northern base of the nave. The lower gallery of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries is supported by a system of foundations and smaller stands. Within the fourth probe, a deep archaeological site was localised with a ceramic sherd in the fill dating to the princely period. The analysis of several features and stratigraphic features of the fill gives grounds to interpret the object as the remains of a semi-hut of this period. Based on the location of the first immovable object, an attempt is made to clarify one of the hypotheses of the urban development of Drohobych from the unfortified initial settlement of salt workers on the right bank of the Pobuk in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, through its gradual development into a proto-city settlement of the thirteenth and early fourteenth centuries in the present Zvarytske suburb to the foundation of a new locational centre in the fourteenth/fifteenth centuries on the free adjacent territory.
Architectural and archaeological studies of preserved architectural monuments emphasise the continuity of development, succession, and originality of the culture of each nation. The research aims to highlight the results of architectural and archaeological surveys at the foundations of the wooden architectural monument - the Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Drohobych, as well as to develop the hypothesis of the city's urban genesis. According to the analysis of literary sources, seven construction periods have been identified since the church was built in 1613. The sounding method showed that the first foundations were standards, which were installed in pits on the cut surface of the continent, often with stone slabs, and covered with soil. The system of double slabs fixed under the altar crown of the log house is considered archaic. During the third and fourth construction periods, some of the stands were replaced, and a stone foundation supported by a wide base of slabs was built under the northwestern corner of the main log cabin. In 1823, the altar log cabin and the southern façade of the building were supported by a ribbon structure of stone foundations. No banded foundations were found under the western base of the chancel and the northern base of the nave. The lower gallery of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries is supported by a system of foundations and smaller stands. Within the fourth probe, a deep archaeological site was localised with a ceramic sherd in the fill dating to the princely period. The analysis of several features and stratigraphic features of the fill gives grounds to interpret the object as the remains of a semi-hut of this period. Based on the location of the first immovable object, an attempt is made to clarify one of the hypotheses of the urban development of Drohobych from the unfortified initial settlement of salt workers on the right bank of the Pobuk in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, through its gradual development into a proto-city settlement of the thirteenth and early fourteenth centuries in the present Zvarytske suburb to the foundation of a new locational centre in the fourteenth/fifteenth centuries on the free adjacent territory.
Description
Citation
Lukomskyi Y. Architectural-archaeological research and the hypothesis of the development of pre-local Drohobych in the XII-XIII centuries / Yurii Lukomskyi // Architectural Studies. — Lviv : Lviv Politechnic Publishing House, 2023. — Vol 9. — No 1. — P. 7–22.